Political stability thanks to parliamentary democracy

Macedonia, according to the 1991 Constitution is a parliamentary democracy. The drafting of the Constitution has been created by experienced statesmen like former President and helped by the former French justice minister Robert Badinter.

The Macedonian parliament (Sobranie maz.) is elected every four years. According to the Constitution, it consists of at least 120 and no more than 140 seats, whose members are elected by direct universal suffrage. The head of state is the president who is elected every five years. Current President is Gjorge Ivanov, who is in office since 2009.

The party system is characterized by a double polarity. On the one hand there is the ethnic-national camp (Slav-Macedonian and Albanian), on the other political forces (post-Communist and anti-communist).

The current foreign minister and main contact person for Honorary Consul Mirce Filiposki is the political scientist Antonio Milišoski, who has worked since 2005 at the Institute of Political Sciences at the Gerhard-Mercator University in Duisburg.

For more information on the political situation and contact consular representatives refer here:

Government of the Republic of Macedonia
Macedonian Foreign Ministry
German Foreign Office

Embassy of the Republic of Macedonia in Berlin
Ambassador Kornelia Utevska-Gligorovska a
Königsallee 2-4
14193 Berlin
Phone: +49 30/89 06 95 22
Fax: +49 30/89 06 95 25
E-Mail: makedonische.botschaft (at) t-online.de

General Consulate of the Republic of Macedonia in Munich
General Vasko Grkov
Briennerstr. 56
80333 Munich
Phone: +49 89/54 24 47 56
Fax: +49 89/54 24 47 58
E-mail: munich (at) mfa.gov.mk

Consulate of the Republic of Macedonia in Bonn
Name of the consul is not known!
Strässchensweg 6
53113 Bonn
Phone: +49 228/92 36 90
Fax: +49 228/23 10 25
E-mail: bonn (at) mfa.gov.mk